Know When to ask for Help

Bringing balance amongst my boxes as a newly widowed mom of four living far from any family has been challenging. Unlike previous moves, there’s no reinforcements coming at the end of the day. I can’t come up with a fantastically big idea and just wait for him to get home to help me. Either I figure out how to do it or I see if any of my friends are willing and able to help. When I run out of momentum, there’s no one to pick up the slack and say they can finish it for me.

This is hard—harder than any move I’ve done. And that includes moving unemployed with three kids under 6!

But I thank God every day that I do have great friends here. Just a few weeks ago, I was able to call on my friend, Rhonda.

Rhonda is the second friend I made in Rapid City. She attended the church that hired Kraig and I. I love that grown-up friends don’t have to be the same age as us. I love that my friends run the gamut from their 50s down to women in their 20s. Rhonda is towards the upper end of that scale. We bonded when she discovered I was a novice quilter who wanted to pursue this hobby. We became fast friends in the midst of brilliantly colored aisles of fabric.

Rhonda was the first friend to my home that morning after Kraig died. She’s the first one to tell me that I should take the kids on the Disney trip their daddy had promised them. I’m forever thankful for that “permission” to do something amazing with them no matter what practicality dictated.

Rhonda offered to come help me one day when I was so overwhelmed with the boxes, I could have plopped down and sobbed. I knew right away the first project to get her help with—my fabric and sewing supplies. She understands how a quilter and crafter thinks.

Rhonda was fun to watch. I meant to help her but she organizes like a whirlwind. After a few moments, I realized I was better off telling her about our vacation and watching her hands deftly fly over my shelves. In no time, the supplies all had a home and she was telling me to move whatever I discovered didn’t work for me.

SAM_0925

Family Room/Playroom Before

“What next?” she asked.

We headed down to the family room. I had let the girls “organize” it but it was claustrophobic and I couldn’t imagine a better layout. Rhonda could. In no time we were moving furniture, removing boxes, and straightening toys. It was so much better.

SAM_0928

Family room/Playroom After

We used most of the day tackling these two rooms but the weight of having them done made me breathe easier. It helped me pick up momentum to keep moving in other rooms. Rhonda was the burst of energy I needed to get things done.

If you are trying to tackle a move like I did, don’t be afraid to ask your organized friends. They are a God-send—literally! He never meant for us to live life in isolation, proudly trying to prove we don’t need anyone. We need each other and there is no shame in that! When you’ve done all you can do on your own, pray and ask God to show you which person in your life can pick up the baton and help you cross the finish line.

Now off to sew something in my fantastically organized sewing corner.

One thought on “Know When to ask for Help

Leave a Reply

