Score!

Today’s blog could have been called “Hooray for clearance finds and it pays to know the employees at Hobby Lobby really well” but that’s a little long. Sometimes I need to work on brevity anyway.

I used to sew a lot. I had an Etsy site. Think I still do. But since Kraig died, sewing hasn’t been therapy to me. It’s been a burden. So I pared down the craft shows I do to one and that one is in two weeks. Gulp.

I resumed my habit of frequent trips to Hobby Lobby to take advantage of sales on materials and try to create new things that will sell. And I was pleased to be greeted by the employees who used to see me all the time like a long lost friend. It was sweet.

One of the assistant managers also knows me from Special Olympics. Our sons used to participate in the same sports. Today I found her stocking shelves as I walked the aisles of the framed art and prints that were 50% off, daydreaming for my new house. I’m always on the lookout for a good deal and inspiration.

As we began to chat, Heather asked what I was looking for. Nothing specific, I told her, though I did say I would love to get one of those huge clocks to go on a wall I have that is above some steps. But, I added, they are usually really expensive. Her face lit up. “Follow me,” she beamed. “Let’s go look in clearance.”

I didn’t know this department had clearance. She said they’d only recently found the space for it. What do you think sat there but a beautiful, oversize clock just like I wanted in a color that fit one idea I had for the area. It was missing a handle on top. But, she pointed out, if it’s going that high on a wall, who’ll know? (Well now my readers do but I don’t care!)

I realized if I got it home and the color bugged me, I could paint it. It was 66% off! I only thought for a few moments before realizing it was a steal. I found a plaque for $3.50 on another shelf that would go with a picture wall I’m planning as well. And then I decided I needed to get out of there before I was too naughty with my budget.

SAM_0989I will have to enlist the help of Rhonda’s husband, Joey, for a ladder he has specifically for steps like those. And to make sure I mount it safely lest it fall one day and flatten my little Lucy. But just seeing it sit there puts a smile on my face today.

Little by little, I’m finding ways to make this house a home. Little by little I’m bringing balance amongst the boxes. Today it was with a blessing in the Hobby Lobby clearance aisle.

One thought on “Score!

Leave a Reply

