Pause

Wednesday mornings are the time I’ve set aside to work on my writing. After attending She Speaks Conference this summer, I solidified my passion to be a writer, to call myself a writer, and, hopefully, to see myself published. One of the best take-aways I came home with was to set aside time to write that is guarded and protected. Don’t fill it with coffee dates or cleaning house.

So today I had to go to an appointment after I dropped the kids off at school and I needed to get milk. But then my plan was to come home, ignore my messy house, and write. Words come easily to me. I love story telling and the book I am working on will, I pray, help others who are going through what I have gone through.

But the mess called to me. The laundry called to me. So I decided perhaps while I organized my thoughts I should toss in that load of laundry, put away the groceries, and tidy up a bit so that I am not unfocused in my efforts. As I put the ump-teenth thing away, I uttered a quick prayer, asking God what he wanted me to focus on in my writing today.

And then I felt it—the sense that I needed to stop what I was doing and think about that prayer. I needed to hit “pause.”

Did I want this book to be something that brings hope, encouragement, and healing to widowed moms? Yes.

Did I want God to use my writing for His glory? Yes.

Should my plea for Godly direction, then, be more than a quick thought that flits in and out of my mind while tossing shoes in my closet? Oh. Yes. Most definitely, the answer was yes.

Time spent in the presence of God is never wasted. And time spent asking for His direction is always worthwhile. Perhaps, then, I needed to make time in the “appointment” to write to begin with quiet time with God—quiet time with the purpose of seeking Him first for the day’s writing.

How often do each of us set out to do something for His glory but get caught up in the task without asking Him what He wants? I know I often do. It would be like me decorating a house for someone without asking them what colors they wanted or how they thought the furniture would work best. Though I gave my best, they might not be fully satisfied by the end result.

In the case of my writing this book, I have an audience in mind—widowed moms. But the One beckoning me do the writing must be consulted on how the project should go. And I’m glad He nudges my heart when I forget this essential task.

SAM_0996So I will step away from my computer screen for a while now. I will enjoy this cup of Irish tea and sit down with my devotional book and my Bible and talk to the Director of my performance. I will seek to get my heart in the right place before taking the stage.

Maybe some of you need to do that as well. Step away from the good task you are attempting and make sure it’s the task He set before you and the direction He is leading. The outcome will be amazing, I promise. Take time for a holy pause and watch how much better the finished product becomes.

7 thoughts on “Pause

  1. I love how God can directly speak to us so clearly, even when we’re doing mundane tasks. Maybe especially when we’re doing mundane tasks? I couldn’t agree more with you… I know my best work, regardless of what the “work” is (parenting, writing, etc), is only done when I’ve dedicated time to be still and lean in to God. I love your writing style, and can’t wait to read more!

  2. I love this! I can totally relate. I get caught up in the doing of writing and you are so right – I need to set an appointment with God within my appointed time to write! 🙂 Thank you!

  3. Thanks so much for this reminder. Oh yes, I am often guilty of plunging ahead without asking God first for His guidance, love, strength,and perseverance. I am going to do JUST that before I get going on “MY” tasks for today.

Leave a Reply

